Dartmouth Alumni in President Barack Obama’s Administration

Dartmouth alumni serve their country in roles ranging from U.S. Attorney in the District of Connecticut, to Deputy Secretary of Defense, to Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey.

From left: Neal Katyal ’91, Acting Solicitor General; Ben Wagner ’82, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of California; Karen Loeffler ’79, U.S. Attorney for the District of Alaska; David Fein ’82, U.S. Attorney for the District of Connecticut; Attorney General Eric Holder; Jerry Martin ’96, U.S. Attorney for the Middle District of Tennessee; Monty WIlkinson ’83, Counselor to the Attorney General; and Steve Dettelbach ’88, U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Ohio. (photo courtesy of David Fein)

This list was updated January 25, 2011. It was first published in July 2009 in the electronic newsletter Speaking of Dartmouth. If we missed someone, please let us know.

Ambassadors / Envoys in the Department of State

Stephen W. Bosworth ’61; U.S. Special Representative for North Korea policy

Eileen Chamberlain Donahoe ’81; U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Human Rights Council

James F. Moriarty ’75; U.S. Ambassador to Bangladesh

Francis J. Ricciardone ’73; Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey, Department of State

Mara E. Rudman ’84; Deputy Envoy/Chief of Staff to Special Envoy for Middle East Peace George Mitchell

Todd D. Stern ’73; Special Envoy for Climate Change

Eleni Tsakopoulos-Kounalakis ’89; U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Hungary

Census Bureau

Robert M. Groves ’70; Director

Department of Defense

R. Rand Beers ’64; Undersecretary for the National Protection and Programs Directorate, Department of Homeland Security

Eric Fanning ’90; Deputy Undersecretary of the Navy and Deputy Chief Management Officer

William J. Lynn ’76; Deputy Secretary of Defense

Paul Stockton ’76; Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and America’s Security Affairs

Department of Energy

Cathy Zoi, Thayer ’85; Acting Under Secretary for Energy and Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Department of Housing and Urban Development

Lisa Danzig, Tuck ’04; Special Assistant to the HUD Secretary

Department of the Interior

Betsy Hildebrandt ’86; Director of Communications

Hilary Tompkins ’90; Solicitor

Elizabeth Saagulik Hensley ’05; Advisor to Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Indian Affairs

Department of Justice

Steven E. Fagell ’95; Deputy Chief of Staff and Counselor to the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division

Neal K. Katyal ’91; Acting Deputy Solicitor General

Robert Montague Wilkinson ’83; Counselor to the Attorney General

Department of State

Jose W. Fernandez ’77; Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of Economic, Energy and Business Affairs

Pamela Quanrud ’85; Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs

Department of the Treasury

David R. Dollar ’76; Economic and Financial Emissary to China

Timothy F. Geithner ’83; Secretary of the Treasury

Michelle Greene ’91; Deputy Assistant Secretary for Financial Education and Financial Access

David G. Loevinger ’84; Executive Secretary and Senior Coordinator for China Affairs

Export-Import Bank

Ravi Arulanantham ’96; Senior Advisor to the Chairman

Federal Communications Commission

Geoffrey C. Blackwell ’91; Director of FCC Tribal Initiatives

Office of Public Engagement

Jodi Archambault Gillette ’91; Deputy Associate Director, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs

Office of the First Lady

Joseph J. Boswell ’06; Executive Assistant

Office of Financial Stability

Desi Duncker, Tuck ’05; Investment Specialist

David Miller ’98; Acting Chief Investment Officer

Zachary Segal ’98, Tuck ’06; Investment Specialist

Office of National AIDS Policy

Gregorio Millett ’90; Senior Policy Advisor, Office of National AIDS Policy

Office of Political Affairs

Amanda K. Brown ’07; Assistant to the Director of Political Affairs

Recovery Act Implementation

Cathy Green Solomon ’82; Advisor

U.S. Attorneys

Steven Dettelbach ’88; Northern District of Ohio

David B. Fein ’82; District of Connecticut

Karen Loeffler ’79; District of Alaska

Jerry E. Martin ’96; Middle District of Tennessee

Benjamin Wagner ’82; Eastern District of California

U.S. District Judge

R. Brooke Jackson ’69; District of Colorado

Abdul K. Kallon ’90; Northern District of Alabama

White House Fellows

Thomas Fisher ’96, 2010-2011

Members of Presidential Boards/Councils

Mark Brzezinski ’87; Member, J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board

Trustee John Donahoe '82; Member, White House Council for Community Solutions

Nita A. Farahany ’98; Member, Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues

Richard L. Friedman ’63; Member, President’s Export Council

Betsy Hildebrandt ’86; Member, Council on Women and Girls

Trustee Jeffrey R. Immelt ’78; Head, Council on Jobs and Competitiveness

Trustee Pamela Joyner ’79; Member, President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities