March 12, 2020, Update

March 12, 2020, Update

To the Dartmouth community,

On Wednesday evening, the Trump Administration announced new restrictions on travel from Europe to the United States beginning Friday, March 13, at 11:59 pm. Although details about the restrictions are still emerging, administration officials have clarified that the restrictions would apply only to foreign nationals coming from 26 European countries. The restrictions will not apply to U.S. citizens, legal permanent residents, and their family members. Out of an abundance of caution, we recommend that all faculty, staff, and students currently traveling internationally return to their homes as soon as possible. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has also issued a Level 3 travel warning for most European countries. As with all other Level 3 and Level 2 countries, travelers returning from those locations should self-quarantine off campus for 14 days.

Given the rapidly evolving nature of travel restrictions, at this time we are prohibiting all Dartmouth-sponsored international and domestic travel for staff, faculty, and students until further notice. We also are strongly discouraging all personal domestic and international travel. Students traveling to leave campus are exempt from these restrictions. Later today we will post guidance on the website for how to apply for a waiver to these Dartmouth travel restrictions if needed. We will continue to monitor the situation and provide updates to our community.

If you are potentially impacted by the new European restrictions and need support to return to the United States, please email We appreciate how disruptive and difficult this situation is for everyone involved. We are committed to ensuring the safety of our students, faculty, and staff and are working to provide support to everyone in our community affected by this new policy.


Dr. Lisa Adams
Joshua Keniston
Co-Chairs, Dartmouth COVID-19 Task Force